Comment are off

Liberal Nationals Shadow Ministry

Today, Peter Walsh and I announce a new shadow ministerial line-up that will sharpen our focus on the things that matter most to Victorians

The Liberals and Nationals are focused on policies that will create good jobs for Victorians – jobs that offer more security and better opportunity.  The Liberals and Nationals are focused on housing affordability and affordable electricity.  The Liberals and Nationals are focused on easing the population squeeze and becoming a state of cities and not a city state.  The Liberals and Nationals are focused on safer communities with good roads, transport, schools and local health care.

These are the issues that all of my team are focused on.

Over the next 14 months, my team with this new allocation of portfolios and responsibilities will build on the policies already released that will give Victorians a real choice at the next election between more of the same or a better future.

We are working on a plan to manage Victoria’s population growth of over 100,000 people every year.  It’s a plan that will grow jobs around the state, including an ambitious construction and infrastructure program that will improve the connectivity between cities and towns to help decentralise our population.

That’s why I am taking on responsibility for our population policy with Nationals Leader Peter Walsh who will have responsibility for decentralisation.

Deputy Liberal Leader David Hodgett will take on the Roads portfolio while David Davis will assume responsibility for Public Transport.  Public Transport and Roads will be central to the vision for Victoria that we take to the election.

Deputy Leader of the Nationals, Steph Ryan picks up the vital Water portfolio to add to her current responsibilities.

In addition to retaining Emergency Services, Brad Battin will take on the new portfolio of Building Industry which will give greater focus on both the regulation and development of Victoria’s building and construction industry.  Brad will continue in the role of Emergency Services, protecting those that protect us and keeping the CFA from being torn apart by Daniel Andrews.

Daniel Andrews has introduced 11 new taxes that have increased overall tax by over 20%. On top of that, he has forced the closure of Hazelwood which has seen sky-rocketing electricity costs.  I am delighted that Ryan Smith will take on the new Shadow Ministry of Cost of Living as well as Shadow Special Minister of State. As Shadow Special Minister of State, Ryan will now play the lead coordination role between the parliamentary party and the Liberal Party organisation for the 2018 election campaign.

Underpinning Victoria’s liveability is protecting our natural environment.  Nick Wakeling will take on the key portfolio of Environment – to protect and enhance our parks, rivers, bays and ocean.

Tim Smith comes into Shadow Cabinet as Shadow Minister for Education and Scrutiny of Government. Danny O’Brien will now head the Coalition’s Population Policy taskforce.

Emma Kealy has additional responsibilities in the Health portfolio and will be Shadow Minister for Country Health, Mental Health, Senior Victorians, and Women.

David Morris has the added responsibility of Local Government as well as Shadow Cabinet Secretary.

Robert Clark continues to serve as Shadow Minister for Industrial Relations and takes on the new portfolio of Counter Terrorism.

Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries will have a title change to better reflect their duties; all will now be known as a Shadow Assistant Minister.

Dee Ryall comes into the new role of Shadow Assistant Minister for Economic Development while Margaret Fitzherbert takes on the extra role of Shadow Assistant Minister to the Leader.

Victorians will have a clear choice at the next election.  A choice between a team focused on ideas and policies that will focus on jobs and protecting the way we live, or a government more focused on themselves’ and rorting the taxpayer.