Chinese students to enrich Victorian schools

  •  Victorian and Chinese schools strengthen sister-school relationships
  • 200 Chinese students and teachers welcomed by 15 Victorian schools
  • Napthine Government making Victoria a world leader in education

Ties between Victoria and its Chinese sister state Jiangsu Province grew even stronger this week with the arrival of almost 200 Chinese students and teachers from the Jiangsu city of Suzhou.

Minister for Education Martin Dixon today joined Governor of Victoria Alex Chernov to welcome students and teachers from 15 schools at a ceremony at Government House marking 35 years of the sister state relationship.

The students will spend two weeks in Australia, including one week experiencing Victorian school life at 15 sister schools across the state.

Out of the total 292 Victorian Government sister schools, 140 of these have ties with schools in China.

“As we move further into the Asian century, the Napthine Government is delivering high quality opportunities to ensure our young people have access to an internationally focused education,” Mr Dixon said.

“Both Chinese and Victorian students are deepening their understanding of each others’ language and culture, while developing lasting networks and friendships through this experience.”

Mr Dixon today also launched a new online resource kit to enable more schools to establish overseas sister school partnerships and benefit from the intercultural exchange.

“Bringing Victorian and overseas schools closer together is part of the Napthine Government’s plan to export our success to other parts of the world, and learn from different systems to ensure Victoria delivers world class education,” Mr Dixon said.

“That is why we are assisting schools to deliver language classes for all Preps from next year, to build the strong foundation of first-class languages education for all students up to year 10 by 2025.”

In addition to growing Victoria’s sister school program with China, the Napthine Government has invested $13 million to send 1,500 Year 9 students to China over the next five years.

The second group of students to participate in the six-week Victorian Young Leaders to China program is set to depart in August.

The new Victorian schools participating in the sister school program are:


Camberwell Primary School;


Canterbury Primary School;


Balwyn North Primary School;


Serpell Primary School;


Cockatoo Primary School;


Selby Primary School;


Bimbadeen Heights Primary School;


Mooroolbark Secondary College;


Bayswater West Primary School;


Fairhills Primary School;


Knox Gardens Primary School;


Leongatha Primary School;


Paynesville Primary School;


Yarram Secondary College; and


Neerim District Secondary College.


Media contact: Talia Katz 0408 019 852 talia.katz@minstaff.vic.gov.au


About the Author

Leave a Reply

captcha *